Workshop on "Better Elections for Healthier Democracy" On 6th July 2018

Event Details

❖ Time: 09:00 a.m. to 06:30 p.m.

Venue: Virtual Classroom, Pherozeshah Mehta Bhavan, Department of Civics and Politics, University of Mumbai, Vidyanagari, Santacruz (East), Mumbai - 400 098

Schedule:

Note: Please note that the invitees will be part of groups, created on the basis of the five themes mentioned below, finalised after careful consideration and acknowledgement, on the day of the conference. Kindly refer to the session(s) and timing for the theme selected by you.

Session	Subject	Duration
Registration and Breakfast		09:00 a.m. to 09:30 a.m.
Introductory remarks and welcome by Vice-Chancellor, University of Mumbai Hon. Shri Suhas Pednekar & Keynote address by State Election Commissioner, Maharashtra, Hon. Shri Jageshwar Saharia Vote of Thanks by Dr. Sudha Mohan, Head of Department,		09:30 a.m. to 10:20 a.m.
Department of Civics and Politics, University of Mumbai		10.00
	Introduction to 5 Themes for the	10:20 a.m. to 12:00 p.m.
	Conference by:	(20 minutes per Theme)
	Name of the Theme	Name of the Presenter
	Ownership of Elections by Public/Civil Society Organisations	Dr. Rajas Parchure, Director, Gokhale Institute of Politics and Economics, Pune
Session I	Inclusiveness of Multifaceted Society of India (Poor, Downtrodden, Women, Disabled etc.)	Shri. Bhim Raskar, Director, Resource and Support Centre for Development
	Use of Social Media, Fake News During Elections	Shri. Balsing Rajput, S.P., Cyber Branch, Maharashtra

	How to Develop the 'Institute of		
	Democracy, Elections and Good	Dr. Mrudul Nile,	
	Governance' Established by State	Associate Professor,	
	Election Commission of	University of Mumbai	
	Maharashtra		
	Strategies for Combatting Misuse of	Dr. T.R. Raghunandan,	
	Money, Muscle Power in Elections	Founder & Mentor,	
		Avantika Foundation	
	Tea Break	12.00 p.m. to 12.15 p.m.	
Session I	Note: As mentioned above, in the Group Discussion, each		
	participating member will be divided according to their		
	respective theme, thereby providing them to discuss and		
	deliberate amongst other group members.		
	Group Discussion(s)	12:15 p.m. to 02:00 p.m.	
Lunch		02:00 p.m. to 02:30 p.m.	
Note: In Session II of the conference, after the group-based discussions, the participating			
members will be requested to provide their valued inputs in terms of ideas, suggestions,			
inputs, policy-driven solutions as part of the theme they will be speaking about.			
	Presentation by Group Members on		
Session II	their respective subject(s)	02:30 p.m. to 04.30 p.m.	
	(3 Themes)		
	Tea Break	04.30 p.m. to 04.45 p.m.	
	Presentation by Group Members on		
	their respective subject(s)	04.45 p.m. to 05.30 p.m.	
	(2 Themes)	_	
Valedictory Session		05:30 p.m. to 06:00 p.m.	
Evening Snacks		06:00 p.m. to 06:30 p.m.	

Themes:

- Ownership of Elections by Public/Civil Society Organizations etc.
- Use of Social Media, Fake News During Elections
- Inclusiveness of Multifaceted Society of India (Poor, Downtrodden, Women, Disabled etc.)
- How to Develop the "Institute of Democracy, Elections and Good Governance"
 Established by the State Election Commission of Maharashtra
- ❖ Strategies for Combating Misuse of Money, Muscle Power in Elections

List of Invitees:

- 1. A.N. Siddhewad, Head of Department, Political Science, People's College, Nanded
- 2. Ajit Ranade, Founder & Trustee, Association for Democratic Reforms
- 3. Alyssa Heinze, Fulbright Scholar
- 4. Anuya Kuwar, Project Coordinator, Asia Region, Commonwealth Local Government Forum
- 5. Avinash Sanas, Deputy Commissioner, State Election Commission, Maharashtra
- 6. Balsing Rajput, S.P., Cyber Branch, Maharashtra
- 7. Bhim Raskar, Director, Resource and Support Centre for Development
- 8. Datta Gurav, Resource and Support Centre for Development, Program Director
- 9. Deven Bharti, Joint Commissioner of Police (Law & Order), Mumbai
- 10. Jagdeep Chhokar, Founder Member, Association for Democratic Reforms
- 11. Mahesh Zagade, Ex- Principal Secretary, General Administration Department, Government of Maharashtra
- 12. Manasi Phadke, Project Consultant, Gokhale Institute of Politics and Economics, Pune
- 13. Mrudul Nile, Associate Professor, Department of Civics & Politics, University of Mumbai
- 14. Naval Bajaj, Inspector General, Konkan Range
- 15. Navalkishor Ram, Collector, Pune
- 16. Nimesh Yadav, Additional Director, Income Tax
- 17. Nitin Waghmode, Additional Commissioner, Income Tax
- 18. P.K. Dash, Ex- Director General, Election Commission of India
- 19. Pravinkumar Padwal, Additional Commissioner of Police (Special Branch), Mumbai
- 20. Rajas Parchure, Director, Gokhale Institute of Politics and Economics, Pune
- 21. Rajendra Nimbalkar, Additional Commissioner, Pimpri Chinchwad Municipal Corporation

- 22. Rajeshwari Despande, Head of Department, Political Science, University of Pune
- 23. Rashmi Sharma Shukla, Rtd. I.A.S. Officer
- 24. Ravindra Shisve, Additional Commissioner Police (Special Branch)
- 25. S. Chokalingam, Settlement Commissioner and Director Land Records, Pune
- 26. S.M. Vijayanand, Rtd. I.A.S. Officer
- 27. Sanjiv Jain, Additional Director, Income Tax
- 28. T.R. Raghunandan, Founder & Mentor, Avantika Foundation, Bengaluru
- 29. Vikram Batra, Director, Election Commission of India